Late Somali News and African News!

Somali News: The Horn of Africa is a home to almost 165 million people. Many observers see the four countries that make up the Horn of Africa in addition to the two countries that complete with them the Inter-Governmental Authority on Development (IGAD), as the next possible front in the war on terrorism.

Read the Somali news below and please comment on what you read. Use the comments form on the Somali and African news and read the brief and the linked pages to get the full scope of what happens in Somalia and other states in the Horn of Africa and East Africa.

The Somali Sufferance in the Somali News.

In the Somali News: Pirates Story from the Past!



According to Francois Grignon, director of the Africa program for Brussels-based International Crisis Group thinks "The situation in the Horn of Africa is the most explosive on the continent,"

The situation seems to be escalated after many pirates' attacks on ships on the area led by Somali pirates, including the failed efforts to capture the US flagged Maersk Alabama on April 2009. The U.S. negotiated with pirates for the American captain, the only hostage after the crew overpowered the bandits.

The pirates as a new Somali product after the fall of the Somali dictator Siad Barre think that they can stop great international power by such attacks observers concluded.

Terrorists found basic support from the military religious dictatorial regime of Sudan to encrypt to the Somali area, then follow tracks by linking to some traditional Muslims, and convert them into terrorism.

Somalia became a terrorist breeding ground since 1989 when the Sudanese National Islamic Front party (NIF) took over power by a military coup in June that year. Many attacks against American targets began since that date.

U.S. embassies in Nairobi, Kenya, and Dar es Salaam, Tanzania were targets of twin bombing by al-Qaeda in 1998. The attacks were obviously emanated from neighboring Somalia. However, the dictatorial military religious regime of Sudan has the lion share in such conspiracies.

Hijacking spiked off the coast of Somalia last year leaving counterterrorism officials pressed for any evidence that the country's extremist factions, or even al-Qaeda militants operating in East Africa, might be using piracy to fund their violence.

However, the complicated clan structure and the Somalia's ungoverned black market, there is no functioning system, have made it difficult to trace the cash transactions.

To check the terror network in the Horn of Africa, the U.S.A. has stationed 1,800 troops in Djibouti, a tiny country with close ties with the west, which lies at the edge of the Horn of Africa in a strategic point wheat the opening of the Red Sea into the Indian Ocean.

Observers regard the Horn of Africa as a notorious for corrupt governments, porous borders, widespread poverty and discontented populations, creating a region for Islamic fundamentalism.

However, U.S.A officials have found no direct links between EAST African pirates and terrorist groups. But piracy is believed to be backed by an international network that runs from the Horn of Africa to as far as North America.

It is made up primarily of Somali expatriates who offer funds equipment and information in exchange for a cut of the ransoms, according to researchers, officials and members of the racket. With help from the network, Somali pirates brought in at least $80 million last year.

Ethnic Somalis are the common denominator in the Horn of Africa, and their large presence in neighbouring countries has long been a source of conflict. In the mid-1970s, then Somali President Mohamed Siad Barre advocated expanding the country's borders to unite all Somali-speaking people in Kenya, Ethiopia and Djibouti.

Despite Somalia's disastrous and short-lived invasion of Ethiopia in 1977 and political anarchy since 1992, Somali nationalists and Islamic fundamentalists still advocate this Greater Somalia. An ethnic-Somali insurgency continues in eastern Ethiopia.

Many Somalis were angered when Ethiopia sent troops at the request of Somalia's weak transitional government to oust Islamists who controlled the capital at the end of 2006 and were expanding their influence.

The Islamists' ascent was marked by a dramatic decline in piracy. The Ethiopians withdrew in January as part of an intricate UN-mediated peace deal.

Analysts are warning that the increasing brazen piracy and its toll on shipping companies is going to lead to higher prices for commodities headed to the West. In addition, more than 10 percent of the world's petroleum supply is shipped past Somalia and into Gulf of Aden, the shortest route between Asia and Europe.

If you enjoy reading Somali News much, you can use the search tool at the right column to search for more Somali News, whether on this website, or on the web.

In addition to the Somali news and the behind the Somali political scene brief here, you may also be interested in the following Somali political articles in Arabic and in English:

The Somali Site Maps:

Somalia: hoa-politicalscene.com/somalia.html

Somaliland: hoa-politicalscene.com/somaliland.html

Somali Arabic Comments: hoa-politicalscene.com/somali-arabic-comments.html

Somali Political Articles: hoa-politicalscene.com/somali-political-articles.html

Somali Political Forums: hoa-politicalscene.com/somali-political-forums.html

Somali Political Comments: hoa-politicalscene.com/somali-political-comments.html

Write about Somalia: hoa-politicalscene.com/write-about-somalia.html

Somali Political Articles in English:

Abdurrahman Ali Ahmed Tuur: hoa-politicalscene.com/abdurrahamn-ali-ahmed-tuur.html

Brief History of Somalia: hoa-politicalscene.com/brief-history-of-somalia.html

Somali Composition of Clans and Region: hoa-politicalscene.com/somali-composition-clans-religion.html

DAFI: hoa-politicalscene.com/dafi.html

Omer Sharmarke: hoa-politicalscene.com/omer-sharmarke.html

Somalia Country Profile: hoa-politicalscene.com/somalia-country-profile.html

Somali Archives: hoa-politicalscene.com/somali-archives.html

Somalia's Political Problems: hoa-politicalscene.com/somalia-political-problems.html

Somali Displaced People: hoa-politicalscene.com/somali-displaced-people.html

Somali Political Parties: hoa-politicalscene.com/somali-political-parties.html

Somali Political Situation: hoa-politicalscene.com/somali-political-situation.html

Somali Refugees: hoa-politicalscene.com/somali-refugees.html

Somali Troublemakers: hoa-politicalscene.com/somali-troublemakers.html

Somali Commentary Pages:

African Refugees' Influx to Europe - Comments: hoa-politicalscene.com/african-refugees-influx-to-europe-comments.html

Congratulations, Somaliland for Democracy - Comments: hoa-politicalscene.com/congratulations-somaliland-for-democracy-comments.html

Drought and War Devastate Somalia - Comments: hoa-politicalscene.com/drought-and-war-devastate-somalia-comments.html

Famine Plus Foreign Troops Against Somalia - Comments: hoa-politicalscene.com/famine-plus-foreign-troops-against-somalia-comments.html

It is Painful and Shameful in Somalia - Comments: hoa-politicalscene.com/it-is-painful-and-shameful-in-somalia-comments.html

Joint American Yemeni Troops Operate in HOA - Comments: hoa-politicalscene.com/joint-american-yemeni-troops-operate-in-hoa-comments.html

Kulmiye Leads Somaliland - Comments: hoa-politicalscene.com/kulmiye-leads-somaliland-comments.html

Somali Civil War is Madness - Comments: hoa-politicalscene.com/somali-civil-war-is-madness-comments.html

What to Educate Somali Refugees - Comments: hoa-politicalscene.com/what-to-educate-somali-refugees-comments.html

Why Somaliland Denies Refugees Rights - Comments: hoa-politicalscene.com/why-somaliland-denies-refugees-rights-comments.html

Somali Arabic Pages:

الصومال تئن من الأثار المستمرة للحرب والجفاف| فهم سياسي صومالي جديد قد يسهم في انقاذ الصومال| مفارقات البؤس في السودان والصومال|

For more Arabic pages link from the Somali News to Arabic HOA Political Scene. For places in the Horn of Africa, see Kordofan in Sudan.

Share the Somali News with your social media and other services. Use the small buttons on the Somali News. Use the comments form below to write Somali news, or to comment on the Somali News.

Have A Great Story About This Topic?

Do you have a great story about this? Share it!

[ ? ]

Upload 1-4 Pictures or Graphics (optional)[ ? ]

 

Click here to upload more images (optional)

Author Information (optional)

To receive credit as the author, enter your information below.

(first or full name)

(e.g., City, State, Country)

Submit Your Contribution

 submission guidelines.


(You can preview and edit on the next page)

Somali news, or comments on the Somali News you read here, appear at the second section of the page above.


HOA Political Scene| HOA Political Scene Blog| Political Inspiration| Political Magic| Political News| Political Scene| Political Section| Political Site Map| Political Stories| Political Views| Politics of Myth| HOA Political Scene Newsletter| Political Sense Journal| Horn of Africa's Journal| Horn of Africa's Newsletters| Horn of Africa's Bulletins| Horn of Africa's Ezines| Horn of Africa's Political Newsletters| Horn of Africa| United States of the Horn of Africa| USHA| USHA Framework| Horn of Africa's Network| Humanitarian Network| HOAs Comprehensive Projects| HOAs Cultural Project| Horn of Africa's Journalists| HOAs Journalists| HOAs Journalists Project| HOAs Poets| HOAs Poets Project| HOAs Poets Bookshop| HOAs Self-Publishing| Squadron of Poets| HOAs Refugees| HOAs Refugees Project| Horn of Africa's Bookshop| HOA Calls| HOAs Data Analyzing| HOAs Videos| HOAs Political Business| HOA| The Intergovernmental Authority on Development| African Refugees' Influx to Europe| Change Somali Prime Minister| Congratulations, Somaliland for Democracy| Drought and War Devastate Somalia| Famine Plus Foreign Troops Against Somalia| It is Painful and Shameful in Somalia| Joint American Yemeni Troops Operate in HOA| Kulmiye Leads Somaliland| Omar Abdirashid Ali Sharmarke| Refugees without Borders in the Horn of Africa| Somali Civil War is Madness| Somali Famine is Over| Somali Pirates have Real Estates| The Economy of Somaliland| What to Educate Somali Refugees| Why Somaliland Denies Refugees Rights?|

"Like" above, pin the pictures & "tweet" below to express your love!



Free Political Newsletter with some Good Freebies for You!

Use the newsletter's form at the top left column to subscribe to the HOA PoliticalScene Newsletter. You will then receive your freebies when you confirm your subscription. See example pictures of our free stuff below.

Poet Khalid Osman's Poetry Ebook, Rising of the Phoenix
Poet Khalid Osman's Poetry, Hardcover Book,
Writer Khalid Osman's
Writer Khalid Osman's
Great political thinking is not made today! It has history of good reading in useful resources and some good political practices.

The power of political thinking is essential for people to achieve democracy, justice and real socialist system! Explore, Freelancing Jobs, Political books, Horn of Africa! Politics Economy Uganda, political studies, bachelor political science, etc...


Search the web   www.hoa-politicalscene.com